QUICK LINKS

 News Article
School Board Approves Amended 2018-19 Calendar; Important School Calendar Update; as of 2/27

At the regular monthly school board meeting on Wednesday February 20th, the Board approved an amended calendar which designated additional make-up days as needed by statute:
Make-up #7      Friday May 24, 2019   Last Day of School, 11:30am dismissal.
Make-up #9      Monday March 11, 2019  School will be in session; #9 snow day was 2/12/19.
Make-up #11    Friday March 8, 2019 School will be in session; #11 snow day was 2/27/19.
Make-up #13    Monday April 22, 2019 (if needed)

Additionally, the Board approved moving the end of the 3rd Quarter back to Friday March 15th (was Tuesday 3/5) and the 4th Qtr mid-term back to Friday April 12th (was Friday 4/5).

More information on the snow days and make-up days:

Through Wednesday, February 27th, we’ve now missed eleven (11) days of school due to inclement weather and now the Friday before Memorial Day, May 24th will be the Last Day of School.  As explained below, this will remain the Last Day of School as Summer School begins on May 28th, the Tuesday after Memorial Day.  Current statute requires a school district to schedule six (6) days of planned make-up days when approving a school year calendar.  Further, the statute requires the school district to make up half of the missed days of school after the six planned make-ups until the district has made up ten (10) days of school. 


The no-school days due to inclement weather on Wednesday, February 6th, Thursday February 7th, and Friday February 8th were the 6th, 7th, and 8th days of missed school respectively for the current school year.  As Friday, Feb.8th was the 8th day missed, it doesn't have to be made-up according to statute. The inclement weather no-school day on Tuesday February 12th, was the 9th day of school missed and will have to be made up according to statute. The Make-up day for snow day #9 is Monday, March 11th.  The no-school day on Wednesday, February 20th was the 10th day missed, and is forgiven, not to be made up according to statute.  The no-school day on Wednesday, February 27th was the 11th day of school missed, and the make-up day will be Friday, March 8th.  If we miss a 13th day of school (8th,10th, 12th, 14th and beyond are forgiven, see the chart below), then school will be in session on April 22nd.  As a reminder, the calendar has been amended by the Board of Education at the February meeting and can be viewed by clicking HERE.    

Here’s the current status of make-up days according to current year statutory requirements.

DAY#

Day1

Day2

Day3

Day4

Day5

Day6

Day7

 

M

M

M

M

M

M

M

NO- SCHOOL DATE

11/26

11/27

1/14

1/23

1/30

2/6

2/7

MAKEUP DATE Thurs. 5/16 Fri.  5/17 Mon. 5/20 Tues. 5/21 Wed. 5/22 Thurs. 5/23 Fri. 5/24
 
DAY#

Day8

Day9

Day10

Day11

Day12

Day13

Day14

+

 

F

M

F

M

F

M

F

F

NO- SCHOOL DATE

2/8

2/12

2/20

2/27

 

 

 

 

MAKEUP DATE No Makeup Mon. 3/11 No Makeup Fri. 3/8 No Makeup Mon. 4/22 No Makeup No Makeup

Key:         M = Day must be Made Up                    F = Day is forgiven


Below is a summary of the Make-up days:
1. Thurs. May 16              (Missed Day - Mon. Nov. 26)
2. Fri. May 17                   (Missed Day - Tues. Nov. 27)
3. Mon. May 20                (Missed Day -  Mon. Jan. 14)
4. Tues. May 21               (Missed Day -  Wed. Jan. 23)
5. Wed. May 22               (Missed Day -  Wed. Jan. 30)
6. Thurs. May 23             (Missed Day -  Wed. Feb. 6)
7. Fri. May 24                  (Missed Day -  Thurs. Feb. 7)
8. Forgiven per statute    (Missed Day -  Fri. Feb. 8)
9. Mon. March 11           (Missed Day -  Tues. Feb. 12)
10. Forgiven per statute  (Missed Day -  Wed. Feb. 20)
11. Fri. March 8              (Missed Day -  Wed. Feb. 27)
--------
12. Forgiven per statute
13. Mon. April 22
14 and beyond. Forgiven per statute 

   
Author: R Schmitz